Sona completed her bachelor’s degree in physics from St. Joseph´s College Autonomous Devagiri (India) in 2013. In 2015, she received her master’s degree in Physics from Pondicherry University (India). The master’s thesis was on the topic ‘‘Cathode surface modifications for better performance of lithium sulfur batteries’’ and was supervised by Prof. Ramaswamy Murugan.

Later, she served as a lecturer for one year in the department of physics at St. Joseph´s College, Autonomous Devagiri, India. During 2017–18, she worked as a research assistant on the project ‘‘Solid State Batteries for Consumer Electronics and ELVs’’ at Pondicherry University, organized by the Government of India, Ministry of Heavy Industries, and Applied Materials India Pvt. Ltd.

In 2018, Sona started her research career at CICenergiGUNE as a predoctoral researcher on an industrial project with Umicore, Belgium. Her PhD thesis, entitled ‘‘Towards co-sintering of oxide-based inorganic solid-state batteries: Understanding and overcoming the temperature barriers’’ was supervised by Dr. Montse Casas-Cabanas. In 2023, she obtained her PhD degree at the University of the Basque Country with international mention and Cum Laude Honors.

In January 2024, she re-joined CIC energiGUNE as a postdoctoral researcher in the battery post-mortem analysis and aging group.

Scientific interests

  • Layered oxide cathodes for high potential lithium batteries
  • Material´s surface morphology and structural analyses
  • Ceramic solid electrolytes and sintering techniques for lithium batteries
  • Composite cathodes for all solid-state Lithium batteries

Scientific career

  • Solution based synthesis and surface coating techniques of advanced cathodes for Lithium Sulfur batteries
  • Synthesis and characterizations of ceramic electrolytes and their application in solid-state Lithium metal batteries.
  • Interface stability studies between ceramic solid electrolytes and Lithium metal


  • Cum Laude honors and international mention for the PhD in Physics, University of Basque Country, 2023

Cookies on this website are used to personalize content and advertisements, provide social media features, and analyze traffic. You can get more information and configure your preferences HERE